Albion quintet heads All-League soccer team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 16 November 2018 at 8:59 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include Brylie Hapeman, left, and Sydney Mulka.

Undefeated (10-0) champion Albion has placed five players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls soccer squad.

The Purple Eagles honorees include senior forward Brylie Hapeman, senior midfielder Lexi Wolck, junior midfielder Mariah Plain, junior defender Paige Derisley and freshman goalie Sydney Mulka.

Roy-Hart’s first team honors are Maddie Fry, left, and Meghan Washington

Hapeman, who is a repeat selection, has been named N-O Player of the Year. She had 15 goals and 17 assists on the season.

Wolck had 7 goals and 5 assists and Plain 4 goals and 6 assists while Derisley anchored the Purple Eagles defense along with Mulka who made 163 saves and had a 0.895 goals against average.

Runner-up Akron (8-2) is represented by the trio of senior midfielder Jenna Robnett (17 goals, 12 assists), sophomore midfielder Kara Sequin (15 goals, 8 assists) and sophomore forward Natalie Karmazyn (16 goals, 2 assists). Robnett and Sequin are both repeat honorees.

Roy-Hart has placed senior midfielders Maddie Fry (8 goals, 5 assists) and Meghan Washington (4 goals, 6 assists).

Rounding out the first team are Wilson junior forward Skylar Munnikhuysen (12 goals, 7 assists) and Newfane senior goalie Madelyn Traverse (134 saves).

Albion is also represented on the first team by, from left, Mariah Plain, Paige Derisley and Lexi Wolck.

Albion is represented by a trio of players on the second team including freshman forward Abby Scanlan (17 goals, 6 assists), junior midfielder Kendall Derisley (4 goals, 5 assists) and sophomore defender Claire Squicciarini (3 goals, 4 assists).

Akron also placed three players including sophomore midfielder Maddison Henning, junior defender Julia George and senior defender Morgan Wdowka.

Wilson is represented by seventh grader forward Leah Cloy (12 goals, 6 assists) and sophomore defender Lily O’Lay (5 goals, 6 assists).

Newfane has placed senior midfielder Sarah Milczarski (4 goals, 5 assists) and freshman defender Angelina DiTullio.

Completing the second team are Roy-Hart freshman midfielder Kara Choate (11 goals, 5 assists) and Barker sophomore goalie Sydnie Luckman.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Albion – Leah Pritchard (Fr.), Sarah Gregori (Sr.), Alexis Creasey (Jr.)

Akron – Mindy Doktor (Jr.), Megan Sheehan (Jr.)

Barker – Bailey Sutch (Jr.), Shelby Ewald (Sr.), Samantha Howes (Jr.)

Newfane – Lila Maurer (Sr.), Rachel Chunco (So.), Macy White (Sr.)

Roy-Hart – Emily Metz (Sr.)

Wilson – Isabella Schultz (Sr.), Melanie Gray (Jr.), Kenzie Beyer (So.), Kassidy Sidote (So.)