Albion National Honor Society inducts new members, honors teachers

Photos courtesy of Albion Central School: The newly inducted members of the National Honor Society in Albion are pictured on Wednesday evening.

Posted 31 March 2023 at 12:34 pm

Press Release, Albion Central School

ALBION – A large class of high school students were inducted into the prestigious National Honor Society at a ceremony held in the middle school auditorium on Wednesday evening.

The new inductees include Sophia Albanese, Jason Anstey, Samantha Basinait, Joshua Bovenzi, Kayla Burgio, Jett Conn, Autumn Flugel, Liana Flugel, Kevin He, Maya Knaak, Ulises Ledesma, Abigail Mancuso, Jordan Marshall, Finnegan McCue, Meganne Moore, Dylan Narburgh, Ella Papponetti, Corleone Plain, Lucy Rivers, S’Koi Sanders-Smith, Jacqueline Santiago Garcia, Gina Sidari, Hailey Warren and Erin Weese.

The National Honor Society was founded in 1921 and is built on the four pillars of scholarship, service, leadership and character. Inductees must prove to exhibit all four qualities and be recommended by a faculty member. Last year’s inductees led the ceremony, which included recognition of outstanding high school staff members.

Band director and music teacher Mr. Michael Thaine was chosen as the recipient of Albion’s NHS Excellence in Teaching Award. Mrs. Shelly Daggs received recognition for exemplifying scholarship, Mr. Scott Green for service, Mr. Jay Kovaleski for leadership and Mrs. Ann Marie Garlipp for character. All faculty honorees were picked by the current NHS members.

Current members, inducted in a ceremony in 2022, are Nicholas Andrews, Natalie Baron, Natalie Bertsch, Clara Bolton, Hailey Crawford, Dallas Ecker, Samantha Hand, Amari Jones, Vincent Molisani, Audrey Pask, Emily Richardson and Brianna Sample. The advisor of Albion’s NHS is Mrs. Suzanne Newton.