Purple Eagles and Mustangs will be football division foes once again this fall

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 28 February 2018 at 9:13 am

Last fall long time football rivals Albion and Medina met as non league opponents as the Purple Eagles were in the B2 Division and the Mustangs in the B3 Division.

However, the teams will resume meeting as division foes this coming season as the proposed Section VI Football Federation Aligment has Albion and Medina both in the six team B2 Division along with Depew, Lackawanna, Springville and Olean.

The upcoming season also looks to have the Mustangs fielding a tri-school Medina/Lyndonville/Barker squad pending the expected approval by the Medina and Barker Boards of Education.

In all there are 20 Class B teams in Section VI for the upcoming season. The seven team B1 Division will include Lake Shore, East Aurora/Holland, Pioneer, Iroquois, Cheektowaga, Maryvale and Lew-Port. The seven team B3 Division will include Dunkirk, Fredonia/Brocton, Tonawanda, Newfane, Alden, Burgard and Eden/North Collins.

Roy-Hart, which ended its merger agreement with Barker after this past season, has dropped into Class C. The Rams will be in the C North Division along with Akron, Wilson, Cleve Hill, Gowanda/Pine Valley and Silver Creek/Forestville.