Albion, Medina have B-B Tourney champions

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 December 2021 at 6:42 pm

Albion had two individual champions and Medina one this afternoon at the annual Byron-Bergen Wrestling Tournament.

Albion’s Ellwood Hafner won at 145 with a pin of 1:53 over Chautauqua Lake’s Bradley Smith and Dayne Aina won at 215 with a 6-5 decision win over Chautauqua Lake’s Ison Shirley.

The Purple Eagles also had Jr. Morales at 138 and Alex Hafner at 152 both place second.

In the JV competition for Albion, Joshua Bovenzi finished first while Alonzo Figueroa-Fuentes, Brody Hafner, David Rosario, Luke Bell and Mason Lynch each placed fourth.

Medina’s Gavin Ciarfella won at 132 by decisioning Pioneer’s Xander Kirsch 3-1 in the finals.

The Mustangs also had Dom Callara place second at 102, Rashawn Bloom third at 126 and Reese Senske fourth at 102.

In the JV competition for Medina, Luke Duffina and Conor Crandall both took first place honors. Riley Tower, Brody Fry and Sawyer Kingsbury each placed third.

Also in the varsity competition, Lyndonville had Sebastian Temich place third and Maddox Stirk and Sam Doolan fourth while Zane Christakes placed third and Matt Eden fourth for Holley/Kendall.

In the JV competition for Lyndonville, Allan Heideman finished first and Shayne Nickerson and Alex Farrell both placed second.

Chautauqua Lake took the team title while Albion placed third, Medina 8th. Lyndonville 9th and Holley/Kendall 13th.