Albion, Medina, Barker/Roy-Hart matmen earn N-O titles

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 31 January 2015 at 12:00 am

Newfane repeats as team champion

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Seven local grapplers earned titles at today’s Niagara-Orleans All-League Tournament at Newfane. In front are Collin Anderson and DJ Gardner of Barker/Roy-Hart. In back are Joe Velez of Medina along with Cade Aina, Blake Aina and Preston Flugel of Albion and Brennen Callara of Medina.

Three Albion, two Medina and two Barker/Roy-Hart wrestlers captured titles at the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League Tournament held today at Newfane.

Albion’s champions include Cade Aina (99), Preston Flugel (106) and Blake Aina (138).

“Interestingly both of their fathers also wrestled for me and were All-League meet place finishers,” said Albion Coach Keith Piccirilli in mentioning Tony Aina and Eric Flugel.

Albion’s Preston Flugel (106) works toward a win in the finals over Akron’s Hunter Oldenski.

Medina’s winners were repeat champion Brennen Callara (113) and Joe Velez (120) who also earned the tourney’s Most Valuable Wrestler award.

Barker/Roy-Hart’s champions were DJ Gardner (152) and Collin Anderson (285).

Medina’s Joe Velez (120) who earned the Most Valuable Wrestler honors works toward a title bout win over Brent Bachman of Barker/Roy-Hart.

Undefeated (5-0) regular season leader Newfane romped to the team title to lock up a second straight N-O championship. The Panthers garnered a total of 279.5 points which was nearly 100 more than runner-up Akron with 182. Barker/Roy-Hart finished third with 146 followed by Albion 120.5, Medina 114 and Wilson 86.

Albion’s Blake Aina (138) in route to a title bout win over Ryan Ulrich of Barker/Roy-Hart.

Newfane had a quartet of champions including repeat winners Paul Dunbar (145) and Jake Kubala (182) along with Adam Nowicki (160) and Cyrus Simmons (171).

Rounding out the list of champions are Matty Fiebelkorn (126) and Robbie PeQueen (132) from Akron and Wilson’s Dylan Thompson-Cox (220).

Cade Aina pinned Terrell Atkins of Newfane in 1:52 in his championship match after also pinning Colby Petrie of Medina in 4:49 in the semifinals.

DJ Gardner of Barker/Roy-Hart works toward a title win over Akron’s Jacob Sarow.

Flugel decisioned Hunter Oldenski of Akron 9-3 in the finals after decisioning Aaron Miller of Barker/Roy-Hart 6-3 in the semifinals.

Blake Aina decisioned Ryan Ulrich of Barker/Roy-Hart 4-1 in his title bout after notching a 15-0 technical fall win over Jokob Lojeck of Akron in the semis.

Callara pinned Zach Brown of Newfane in 4:51 in the finals after pinning Jordan Wolcott of Albion in 2:38 in the semis.

Barker/Roy-Hart’s Collin Anderson (285) in route to a win in the finals over Medina’s Kalvin Packer.

Velez edged defending champion Brent Bachman of Barker/Roy-Hart 4-2 in the championship bout after decisioning Julian Nixon of Newfane 9-3 in the semifinals.

Gardner blanked Jacob Sarow of Akron 3-0 in the finals after scoring a 9-0 major decision win over Tyler Simmons of Newfane in the semifinals.

Anderson nipped Kalvin Packer of Medina 2-1 in overtime in his title bout after blanking his Barker/Roy-hart teammate Sam Dauphin 4-0 in the semifinals.

Albion’s Cade Aina (99) works toward a title bout win over Newfane’s Terrell Atkins.

The other title bouts saw Fiebelkorn pin Charles Johnstone of Newfane in 2:33; PeQueen decision Nate O’Lay of Newfane 16-9; Dunbar decision Aaron Burnside of Albion 12-5; Nowicki decision Joe Nolan of Barker/Roy-Hart 11-0; Simmons decision Ethan PeQueen of Akron 11-0; Kubala pin Reed Greiner of Akron in 2:30 and Thompson pin Chris Johnstone of Newfane in 5:25.

Medina’s Brennen Callara in route to earning a second straight N-O championship with a win over Newfane’s Zach Brown.