Albion matmen return solid nucleus

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 November 2017 at 8:40 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Anchoring the lineup for the Albion varsity wrestling team this season will be this group of veterans. In front are Chester Boring, Tim Wells, Preston Flugel, Hunter Albright and Cody Wilson. In back are Myles Brewer, Ugene Harrison, Chase Carleton, Donamic Farley, Ben Restivo and Jessy Cruz.

With nearly a dozen veterans anchoring the lineup, Albion is prepping for the key Niagara-Orleans League season opening wrestling match at four-time defending champion Newfane on December 6.

Seniors Preston Flugel, who earned a Section VI Class B title, and Tim Wells, who captured an N-O League championship, head Albion’s large veteran contingent which also includes seniors Chester Boring and Hunter Albright; juniors Donamic Farley, Ben Restivo, Jessy Cruz, Ugene Harrison and Myles Brewer along with sophomores Cody Wilson and Chase Carleton.

Flugel went on to place third at the Section VI championships while Restivo placed third and Farley fourth at the Class B tourney.

“We’re a young, hard working team looking forward to the season,” said Coach Pat Uveino. “We have many dedicated returners and a great group of newcomers. All the coaches are excited for the season. It is our hope to stay healthy, improve each day and achieve our goals for the season.”

The Purple Eagles losses from last year include N-O and Class B champion Blake Aina who graduated, and Cade Aina who has transferred.

Albion, which went 3-2 in N-O action last season, will tuneup for the league campaign by hosting Alexander on November 29 and visiting Byron-Bergen on December 2.

November: 29 – Alexander, 6 p.m.
December: 2 – at Byron-Bergen, 9 a.m.; 6 – at Newfane, 6 p.m.; 9 – at Depew Tournament, 9 a.m.; 13 – at Roy-Hart/Barker at Barker, 6 p.m.; 20 – Akron, 6 p.m.; 22 – at Lyndonville, 4:30 p.m.; 28 – at Holley Tournament, 9 a.m.
January: 3 – Medina, 6 p.m.; 6 – at Victor Tournament, 9 a.m.; 10 – Wilson, 6 p.m.; 13 – All-League Tournament, 8:30 a.m.; 27 – at Medina Tournament, 9 a.m.