Albion matmen have large veteran contingent

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 November 2019 at 12:56 pm

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Leading Albion into the up coming wrestling season is this large contingent of veterans. In front are Bobby Dysard, Scott McMurray and Junior Morales. In the middle row are Malykiah Allen, Shane Hastings, Dayne Aina, Austin Aman, Ellwood Hafner, Cameron Bell and Jabari Johnson. In the back row are Chase Carleton, Will Freeman, Cole Spierdowis, Cody Wilson, Blake Stornelli, Alex Hafner and Bryce Kelly.

Looking to improve on last year’s third place finish Albion returns a large contingent of nearly 20 veterans with which to challenge for top Niagara-Orleans League wrestling honors this season.

That large veteran group includes senior Bryce Kelly and sophomore Junior Morales, who both captured titles at the N-O All-League Tournament last year, along with junior Will Freeman who placed second and seniors Cody Wilson and Chase Carleton, junior Cole Spierdowis and sophomore Ellwood Hafner who were all third place finishers.

Wilson went 31-8 last season while Morales and Ellwood Hafner both topped the 20 win mark.

The Purple Eagles, which went 3-2 in N-O dual meets last season, also return juniors Malykiah Allen, Shane Hastings and Cameron Bell along with sophomores Bobby Dysard, Scott McMurray, Dayne Aina, Austin Aman, Jabari Johnson, Blake Stornelli and Alex Hafner.

“We’re a young team but we’ve got a lot of kids and some pretty good experience so we have some high expectations,” said Coach Pat Uveino.

Albion will begin N-O competition at home against Wilson on December 4. The Purple Eagles will visit defending champion Newfane on January 8.

November: 30 – at St. Mary’s, Lancaster, TBA
December: 4 – Wilson, 6 p.m.; 7 – at Byron-Bergen Tournament; 11 – at Akron, 6 p.m.; 12 – Alexander, 6 p.m.; 18 – Roy-Hart/Barker, 5 p.m.; 19 – at Byron-Bergen, 6 p.m.; 28 – at Akron Tournament.
January: 4 – at Alexander Tournament; 8 – at Newfane, 6 p.m.; 15 vs. Medina at Akron, 6 p.m.; 18 – N-O All-League; 25 – at Medina Tournament