Albion, Lyndonville-Medina musicals recognized at Stars of Tomorrow

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 7 May 2016 at 12:00 am

Albion’s Joseph named Outstanding Musical

Photos by Tom Rivers

Zach Shaffer plays the Pharaoh in Albion’s production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, which Thursday was honored as an “Outstanding Musical” in the Stars of Tomorrow program, featuring the top performers in high school musicals in the Rochester region.

Albion won many other awards in the B Division, which includes many suburban schools. The combined Lyndonville-Medina musical, which also competes in the B Division, also was recognized with several awards.

Joseph Madejski plays one of Joseph’s brothers in Albion’s spring musical, which swept the major awards in the Stars of Tomorrow program.

In addition to Outstanding Musical, Albion won for Outstanding Dance Ensemble, Outstanding Acting Ensemble, Outstanding Production Crew, Outstanding Student Orchestra, and Outstanding Singing Ensemble.

Albion performers also won individual awards. Kyle Thaine plays Joseph, center, and was honored with an award for Outstanding Leading Actor.

Angela Tarricone, left, and Cheyenna Eagle, right, both were narrators and each received awards for Outstanding Supporting Actress.

Additional individual recognitions went to Jillian Doyle, Elijah VanEpps and Stephen Williams.

Salma Huzair of Lyndonville plays Sarah Brown in Guys & Dolls. She was recognized as Outstanding Lead Actress. Salma also was picked as one of the 32 top performers in Rochester and will perform on May 26 in Rochester for the chance to represent the Rochester area in New York City at a national competition. For more on that competition, which includes fan voting, visit

Thomas Follman won a Best Supporting Actor award for his portrayal of “Nicely-Nicely Johnson” in Guys & Dolls.

Other Lyndonville-Medina students recognized include Isabella Carrasquillo and Brian Cunningham as Future Stars, Madison Holland and Jenna Doran with Special Recognition, and Tip of the Hat awards to Sierra Blanar, Aubrey Lewis and Brian Cunningham.

Lyndonville used to compete in the D Division for the smallest schools, but was moved to the B Division, with much bigger schools, since a merger of the musical program with Medina.