Albion inducts new members into NHS, honors special education teacher

Posted 29 March 2018 at 5:49 pm

Photos and article courtesy of Albion Central School

ALBION – Albion High School incucted 26 students into the National Honor Society on Wednesday. These members met the criteria set forth by NHS of scholarship, service, leadership and character. The new inductees were welcomed by current members.

The new members include, front row, from left: Alexa Adams, Emma Mathes, Malory Adams, Madison Narburgh, Brylie Hapeman, Kirsten Struble, Trinity Allen and Tess Pettit.

Middle row: Gricelda Maldonado, Jace Conn, McKenna Boyer, Kaylyn Holman, Hannah VanEpps, Chantel VanDeGenachte, Emily Caldwell, Marie Reynolds, Jessica Schleede and Natalie Lathrop.

Back row:  Devin Olles, Jacob Ettinger, Matthew Kovaleski, Enoch Martin, Evan Allen, Harrison Brown, Kirk Ellison and Jessy Cruz.

Jennifer Blanchard receives the Excellence in Teaching Award from Natalie DiCureia. Mrs. Blanchard is a high school special education teacher and sophomore class advisor.

Mrs. Blanchard addressed the audience. She encouraged them to step outside of their comfort zone and to embrace their own journey, whatever and wherever it may lead. She reassured students that sometimes the path they are on may change, and there is nothing wrong with change. She told students that they are the only ones in charge of their lives and that they need to own it and make their life the best it can be.

The National Honor Society also took time to recognize staff members who exemplified the organization’s ideals. The following were recognized, from left: Nancy Wickman, Jennifer Rowe, Eric Christiansen and Gary Simboli.

• Chemistry teacher Nancy Wickman received the Character Award from NHS member Elisabeth Baker.  Elisabeth said Mrs. Wickman has a caring relationship with everyone, is understanding, and easy to talk to. She is also very dedicated to making her AP and Regents level chemistry classes a fun experience for everyone. She takes time out of her own day to make sure each and every one of her students understands the material thoroughly.

• Middle School math teacher Jennifer Rowe received the Scholarship Award from NHS member Natalie DiCureia. Natalie said Mrs. Rowe is very passionate about scholarship. She has impacted the lives of many with her outstanding ability to teach. She goes above and beyond to make sure her students know their material and truly understand the connections that they need to make. She will go the extra mile to help any student that may be struggling.

• School psychologist Eric Christiansen received the Leadership Award from NHS member Garrett Derisley. Garrett noted Mr. Christiansen has a great way of interacting with students and takes pride in being able to provide advice to a student or tell them about a program that helps change the student’s life for the better.

• Choral director Gary Simboli received the Service Award from NHS member Riley Seielstad. Riley honored Mr. Simboli for consistently taking on the role of service not just in school but in the community. She said, “He goes out of his way to spread compassion and acceptance in our school.” She also noted that the students see him as a role model because he volunteers his time and talents in the community through local benefits, events, concerts and service projects.

Victor Benjovsky and Elisabeth Baker present a National Honor Society pin to Gricelda Maldonado.

New members recite the National Honor Society pledge.

Return to top