Albion High School inducts 34 into Honor Society

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 9 April 2016 at 12:00 am

Provided photos

ALBION – The Albion High School National Honor Society held its annual induction ceremony on March 31 and inducted 34 new members.

The Albion High School Chapter welcomed the following students to the National Honor Society pictured above; Marella Albanese, Rose Arnold, Emilie Barleben, Lauren Becht, Kastriot Bela, Emily Blanchard, Shannon Broda, Sierra Chudy, Jillian Doyle, Nicole Eldred, Owen Foos, Elizabeth Furmanski, Celeste Hoffman, Jared Hollinger, Megan Leight, Mackenzie Luft, Joseph Madejski, Bailey Maier, Katherine Mann, Isabella Prest, Jacqueline Quintana Aragon, Vivian Rivers, Karina Rosario, Katherine Rustay, Yasmeen Shabazz, Samuel Slick, Skyler Smith, Clara Stilwell, Angela Tarricone, Catherine Thom, Laurence’ Walker, Chloe Weis, Savanah Wirth and Stephen Zayac.

The National Honor Society recognizes outstanding high school students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921. (Click here for more information.)

Photo by Tom Rivers – Rich Gannon, a high school social studies teacher, receives the “Excellence in Teaching Award” from Kyle Thaine, a member of the National Honor Society in Albion.

The National Honor Society provides students with opportunities to excel in community service through a variety of projects. The Albion Chapter is active in many community service projects helping collect and distribute necessary supplies to needy families of Genesee and Orleans counties.

National Honor Society (NHS) is an organization that has been active in Albion for many years. Students with a 90% or above average after the first 20 weeks of their junior or senior year are invited to support their candidacy for membership. This consists of filling out several forms, writing an essay, and obtaining four letters of recommendation. Membership is granted only to those selected by the Albion NHS Faculty Council using the information provided by the candidate in the areas of leadership, service, and character as well as input gathered from Albion High School faculty, staff, and administration.

National Honor Society members also looked at the four pillars of NHS and chose staff members who exemplified these areas. Staff members chosen who model these pillars were Mrs. Michele Powley (service award recipient), Ms. Susan Sampson (scholarship award recipient), Mr. Brad Nickerson (character award recipient) and Mrs. Dawn Arnold (leadership award recipient).

The Society also annually awards an Excellence in Teaching Award to a faculty member. This year the Albion NHS Excellence in Teaching Award winner was an Albion High School Social Studies teacher Mr. Rich Gannon.

Also recognized at the induction ceremony were current National Honor Society members. Pictured above are; Miranda Allen, Dylan Bader, Desiree Barber, Daniel Beam, Bethany Bowman, Scott Daniels, Wynter Dumont, Cheyenna Eagle, Randal Eblacker, Matthew Flanagan, Madeline Gibbs, Sarah Graham, Mckayla Hastings, Meghan Hurley, Caitlin Malanowski, Alyce Miller, Evan Pappalardo, Meredith Patterson, Katelyn Perry, Katlin Pieniaszek, Zachary Shaffer, Kelsee Soule, Melissa Symonds, Kyle Thaine, Nathaniel Trembley, Raven White and Mikayla Yaskulski.