Albion has a trio of N-O wrestling champions; Medina, Roy-Hart/Barker have repeat winners

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 January 2019 at 4:26 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – AJ Schafer of Roy-Hart/Barker works toward a pin over Akron’s Christian Humbert in the 152 lb. title match at today’s annual Niagara-Orleans All-League Tournament at Albion. It was also Schafer’s milestone 100th career victory.

Host Albion emerged with a trio of individual weight class champions at today’s annual Niagara-Orleans All-League wrestling tournament including Amilcar Morales (113), Jessy Cruz (170) and Bryce Kelly (220).

Morales decisioned Luke Atlas (Wilson) 12-8 in his title bout while Cruz pinned his Albion teammate William Freeman in 2:59 and Kelly scored a quick 29 second fall over Ryan Holtz (Newfane).

Medina’s Colby Petrie, who received the tourney’s Most Valuable Wrestler award, earned his fourth straight N-O championship with a quick 32 second pin over Allan Schultz (Wilson) in his 126 lb. title bout. He notched a pin of 1:03 in the semifinals.

Roy-Hart/Barker’a AJ Schafer won a second straight N-O title by pinning Christian Humbert (Akron) in 2:29 in the 152 lb. final to earn his milestone 100th career victory. He registered a pin of 1:39 in the semifinals.

Medina’s Colby Petrie, who earned the tourney’s Most Valuable Wrestler award, in route to scoring a pin over Akron’s Allan Schultz in the 126 lb. title bout. It was Petrie’s fourth league title.

Newfane, which had a total of seven individual weight class winners, took top team honors to lock up a sixth straight N-O championship.

The Panthers, who went 5-0 in dual match competition this season, garnered a total of 227 points on the day followed by Akron 171, Albion 158, Roy-Hart/Barker 81, Wilson 72 and Medina 36.

Newfane’s winners included Andy Lucinski, who pinned Travis Fry (Akron) in 1:13 at 99 lb.; Adam Huntington, who decisioned Rashawn Bloom (Medina) 8-2 at 106 lb.; Josh Gill, who pinned Josh Cummings (Akron) in 5:26 at 120 lb.; Nick Voelker, who pinned Cam Guy (Wilson) in 3:21 at 132; Ryan Nugent, who pinned Addison Christ (Albion) in 1:01 at 138 lb.; Phil Stevenson, who decisioned Ryan Yeager (Akron) 11-6 at 145 lb. and Ty Casinelli, who decisioned Jaden Heers (Newfane) 3-2 at 285 lb.

Akron had a pair of winners as Tim Longwell pinned Cameron Bell (Albion) in 1:58 at 182 lbs. and Millard Young who decisioned Karson Grover (Roy-Hart/Barker) 5-2 at 195 lbs.

Wilson’s Trent Kenny won the 160 lb. title with a pin of 2:49 over Brian Covell (Akron).

Albion also had a quartet of third place finishers including Ellwood Hafner (120), Chase Carleton (152), Hunter Drake (160) and Cole Spierdowis (195).

Roy-Hart/Barker has two third place finishers, Josh Haley (132) and Colby Hancock (145).

Albion’a Amilcar Morales works toward a decision win over Wilson’s Luke Atlas in the 113 lb. title bout.

Albion’s Jessy Cruz bests  his teammate William Freeman in the 170 lb. final.

Albion’s Bryce Kelly won the 220 lb. title with this pin over Newfane’s Ryan Holtz.