Albion has 6 B North first team honorees

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 December 2021 at 9:07 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Three of Albion’s first team B North honorees include, from left, Javon Jones, Jahmeek Riley and Amari Jones.

Albion has placed six players on the first team of the B North Division All-League football squad.

Senior defensive lineman Jahmeek Riley, who has been named B North Defensive Player of the Year, heads the Purple Eagles contingent which also includes junior quarterback Amari Jones, junior running back Jacob Hughson, junior wide receiver Javon Jones, senior offensive lineman Brendan Lebaron and senior linebacker Bryce Froman.

Amari Jones passed for 863 yards and 10 touchdowns and rushed for 252 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Hughson rushed for 339 yards and 3 touchdowns and on defense made 34 tackles and had one interception.

Javon Jones had 509 receiving yards and 6 touchdowns and 171 rushing yards and 4 touchdowns. On defense, he had 5 interceptions and made 28 tackles.

Riley had 40 tackles and 3 sacks while on offense he caught 14 passes for 238 yards and 2 touchdowns and also had 2 rushing TDs.

Lebaron had 48 tackles, 1 sack and 1 interception and Froman had 41 tackles and 1 sack.

Albion had a quartet of second team honorees including wide receiver Tyler Gibson, offensive lineman Chris Porter along with defensive linemen Jabari Johnson and Alex Hafner, all seniors.

The Purple Eagles had a trio of Honorable Mention selections in seniors Angel Cruz, Simon Ellison and Ellwood Hafner.

B North champion Maritime had seven first team honorees headed by senior running back Damien Littleton, who was named the division’s Offensive Player of the Year, He rushed for 1,429 yards and 17 touchdowns.

Rounding out Albion’s first team honorees are, from left, Brendan Lebaron, Bryce Froman and Jacob Hughson.