Albion eyes another run at N-O diamond title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 March 2018 at 9:13 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Veteran members of the Albion baseball squad include Thomas Furmanski, Addison Christ, Bryce Pritchard and Liam Ward. Missing from the photo are Austin Dugan, Harrison Brown and Vincent Zona.

A year ago with a largely underclassmen dominated team Albion fell just one game short of its quest to claim the Niagara-Orleans League baseball title.

Now, with no less than seven regulars from that squad back, the Purple Eagles are again looking to challenge for top N-O honors.

That veteran group includes senior Austin Dugan (outfield), juniors Harrison Brown (first base), Addison Christ (pitcher/infield), Bryce Pritchard (pitcher/first base) and Vincent Zona (outfield/pitcher) along with sophomores Thomas Furmaski (pitcher/third base) and Liam Ward (pitcher/infield/catcher).

Ward earned first team N-O All-League honors last season while Pritchard was a second team honoree. Furmanski and Zona both received Honorable Mention.

One other regular, senior pitcher/infielder JaQuess Harrison, is not playing this year.

The Purple Eagles lineup also includes seniors Nate Fearby (outfield/pitcher), Tony Vallejo-Miller (outfield) and Bryan VanWycke (outfield); juniors Izaiah Callicutt (outfield), Zach Evans (outfield) and John DePui (first base) and sophomore Michael DiCureia (outfield).

“We should be strong pitching wise and defensively,” said Coach Bruce Blanchard. “The big thing is we have to hit better than we did last year. We’ve got to put the ball in play. Last year we just couldn’t get the big hit with guys on base. We definitely have the talent to have a good year if we can do it offensively.”

Albion is scheduled to begin N-O competition at home on April 9 against Akron.

Last season the Purple Eagles finished  the N-O campaign locked in a three way tie for second place with Barker and Wilson at 8-4 a game behind champion Roy-Hart (9-3).

April: 3 – Kenmore East, 12 p.m.; 4 – Pembroke, 12 p.m.; 5 – at Oakfield-Alabama, 11 a.m.; 6 – Alden, 12 p.m.; 9 – Akron, 4:45 p.m.; 11 – at Barker, 4:45 p.m.; 13 – Newfane, 4:45 p.m.; 16 – at Roy-Hart, 4:45 p.m.; 18 – at Wilson, 4:45 p.m.; 20 – Medina, 4:45 p.m.; 25 – at Akron, 4:45 p.m.; 27 – Barker, 4:45 p.m.; 28 – vs. Pembroke, 4 pm. at Medina; 30 – at Newfane, 4:45 p.m.
May: 2 – Roy-Hart, 4:45 p.m.; 4 – Wilson, 4:45 p.m.; 7 – at Medina, 4:45 p.m.; 9  at Aquinas, 4:45 p.m.