Albion boys look to extend N-O track title reign; girls eye a rebound season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 6 April 2024 at 10:09 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Helping to lead the defending champion Albion boys track squad into the upcoming Niagara-Orleans League season is this group of returnees. In front are David Rosario, Rashard Johnson, Alonzo Figueroa-Fuentes, Landin Chaffee and Adam Burgio. In back are Mason Lynch, Jett Conn, Jayden Lewis, Tye Talbot and Ben O’Connor.

For the Albion boys track team the goal for this season is to keep their streak of Niagara-Orleans League titles going. For the Purple Eagles girls squad the goal is to rebound from last year’s winless league campaign.

The Purple Eagles boys squad has captured the last four N-O championships compiling a 24-0 record during that stretch.

Leading the defending champion Purple Eagles is the large veteran group of seniors Landin Chaffee, Jett Conn, Alonzo Figueroa-Fuentes, Rashard Johnson, Mason Lynch, Finn McCue and Ben O’Connor; juniors Jayden Lewis, Cencere Lowe, Kyle Radder, David Rosario and Tye Talbot; sophomores Myles Beach and Wesley Olles and freshman Adam Burgio.

Radder placed second in the 110 Hurdles at last spring’s N-O All-League meet while McCue was third in the 400 as was Olles in the 800. Lowe took fourth in the 200 as did Burgio in the 400 and Beach in the 1600.

The Albion girls squad, which slipped to 0-6 in N-O meets last year, is led by the veteran group of seniors Sophia Albanese, Gabriella Dobo, Zoe Morat, Meganne Moore and Gina Sidari; juniors Madison LeBaron and Mia Prinzing; sophomores Willow Gaines and Ava Ludwick; freshman Isabelle Truelson and eighth grader Jocelyn Friedl.

Sidari placed second and Moore third in the Pentathlon at last year’s All-League meet while Albanese placed fifth in the 200 as did Gaines in the Pole Vault.

Albion is scheduled to open the N-O season at home against Newfane on April 16.

Helpng to lead the Albion girls squad are these returners. In front are Madison LeBaron, Zoe Morat, Gabriella Dobo and Sophia Albanese. In back are Ava Ludwick, Isabelle Truelson, Jocelyn Friedl and Mia Prinzing.