Albion, Barker, Akron duos head N-O All-League tennis team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 19 June 2015 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Albion’s Dyer Benjovski and Josh Metzler have earned first team Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis honors.

Champion Albion, Barker and Akron have each placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Albion, which won a close five-way battle for the N-O title with a 9-3 record, is represented by senior Dyer Benjovsky and junior Josh Metzler.

Akron, which finished in a tie with Medina for second place at 8-4, has placed senior Tyler Kelly and junior Ryan Meek.

Contributed Photos – Sean Benoit, left, and Tristan Payne represent Barker on the first team.

Barker, which finished in a tie for third place with Wilson at 7-5, is represented by the senior duo of Sean Benoit and Tristan Payne.

Rounding out the first team are Medina sophomore Kristian Snyder, Wilson senior Dominic Curcione and Roy-Hart senior exchange student Valeria Sillar.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Kristian Snyder represents Medina on the first team.

Benoit is a three-time first team honoree while Payne, Snyder and Curcione are all repeat selections.

Albion also placed two players on the second team, Monica Benjovsky and Kyler McQuillan, both seniors.

Medina is represented on the second team by senior Brian Bogan and junior Tristan Sanders, Akron by junior Dan Beam and eighth grader Nathan Chubb, Wilson by junior Gabriel Curicone and sophomore Joe Hecko and Barker by senior Brian Hefferon.

Contributed Photos – Akron’s first team honorees are Tyler Kelly, left, and Ryan Meek.

Albion seniors Cristal Quintana and Michael Stilwell have both received honorable mention.

Medina is represented on the honorable mention list by seniors Nick Dieter, Tom Horgan and Austin Owens; Akron by sophomores Cierra Janis and Jacob Meier; Barker by seniors Lucy Bautista and Erik Herian and sophomore Nick Fazzolari; Wilson by juniors Alex Keil and Kallie Olear along with sophomores Kyle Lyon and Michael Pazik; Newfane by sophomore Jeremy Ribbeck and Roy-Hart by junior Quinn Moreland.

Contributed Photos – First team honorees Dominic Curcione of Wilson, left, and Valeria Sillar of Roy-Hart.