Albion and Medina will have new football foes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 February 2023 at 8:50 am

Due to some major changes in the Section VI football division alignment Albion and Medina will both be facing some new opponents this fall.

Because of changes in classification enrollment numbers, this fall Class B will be increased from two to three divisions while Class C will be reduced from three to two divisions.

Last fall Albion competed in the B2 Division along with Maryvale, Cheektowaga, East Aurora, Falconer. Dunkirk and Olean.

This fall the Purple Eagles will be in the new B2 Division along with Maryvale, Dunkirk and newcomers  Lew-Port, Burgard, Iroquois and Lake Shore which were all in the B1 Division last fall. Olean and East Aurora will now be in the B3 Division, Falconer in the C South and Cheektowaga in the B1.

Last fall Medina competed in the C North Division along with Roy-Hart/Barker/Lyndonville, Akron, Newfane, Cleveland Hill and Tonawnada.

This fall the Mustangs will again be in the C North Division which will include Roy-Hart/Barker, Akron, Newfane and Cleveland Hill along with newcomers JFK and Eden/North Collins. Tonawanda moves into the B3 Division. JFK and Eden/North Collins were both in the C Central Division last fall.

Wilson will again be in the D Division along with Gowanda/Pine Valley, Randolph, Franklinville/Ellicottville, Cattaraugus/Little Valley and Clymer/Sherman/Panama.

The Section VI fall schedule of games has not yet been released.

New Division alignment

B1 – Amherst, Kenmore East, Williamsville South, South Park, West Seneca East, Health sciences/Global, Cheektowaga, Pioneer

B2 – Albion, Lake Shore, Burgard, Maryvale, Lew-Port, Iroquois, Dunkirk

B3 – East Aurora/Holland, Olean, Lackawanna, Tonawanda, Depew, Springville, Alden, WNY Maritime

C North – Medina. Roy-Hart/Barker, Akron, Eden/North Collins, Newfane, Cleveland Hill, JFK

C South – Falconer/Cassadaga Valley/Maple Grove, Fredonia, Southwesterm Salamanca, Portville, Silver Creek/Forestville, Chautauqua Lake/Brocton/Westfield

D Division – Wilson, Gowanda/Pine Valley, Randolph, Franklinville/Ellicottville, Cattaraugus/Little Valley, Clymer/Sherman/Panama