Albion Alumni Foundation awards $136K in scholarships to Class of 2023

Provided photos: Olivia Krenning accepts her Hoag Engineering Scholarship from Alumni Foundation President Steve Hicks. 

Posted 3 August 2023 at 9:50 am

Press Release, Albion Alumni Foundation

ALBION – The Alumni High School Alumni Foundation awarded $136,500 in scholarships to Albion High School Class of 2023 graduates during their Class Night ceremony. These awards provide financial assistance to seniors as they continue to pursue their educational goals.

The Foundations’ scholarship committee chose recipients for 50 academic, vocational, service, leadership, arts and athletics scholarships. They poured over numerous applications and chose students that they felt best fit each scholarship’s criteria.

Several newly created scholarships were presented for the first time this year.  They are:

The Betty West Memorial Scholarship – This scholarship was established in honor of Betty West, who taught 1st and 2nd grades in the Albion Primary School for 35 years, retiring in 1993. From childhood, her desire was always to become an educator. This scholarship is funded by both generous contributions and West family contributions and awarded to an Albion senior with the same passion for teaching.

Stewart New Scholarship – This scholarship was established in honor of Stuart New, who taught agriculture at Albion High School and served as the FFA supervisor. He encouraged and supported the education of students in our community who were interested in the Ag field. This scholarship, in turn, is in support of current students who have demonstrated a work ethic and goal related to an agricultural career in the local community. It is funded by Dr. Ronald and Suzanne Harling.

Dick Tower Scholarship – This scholarship was established in memory of Richard “Dick” Tower by his family and Preston’s Landscaping. Dick was a hard worker, starting as a laborer in a textile company and advancing through the ranks to a Production Supervisor. Dick helped to mentor and train many young people entering the workforce. After he retired he helped establish and worked for Preston’s Landscaping.

The Alumni Foundation’s scholarship program continues to grow and benefit more students each and every year. Scholarship funding is made possible through memberships and gifts from AHS Alumni and community members, as well as individuals and organizations that contact the Foundation to establish a scholarship. The Foundation manages the funds and awards the scholarships annually during Albion High School’s Class Night.

The Foundation would like to thank the generous donors that work with us to create and sustain these scholarships. Our donors are helping to make a difference for a lifetime for Albion graduates. Contact Steve Hicks at to learn how you can create a scholarship.

If you are interested in donating to any of the scholarships you can go to our donate button on the homepage of our website ( or write to us:

Albion High School Alumni Foundation

P.O. Box 345

Albion, N.Y. 14411

Rebecca Wager presents the Ronald L. Sodoma Memorial Scholarship to Ulises Ledesma. This scholarship is in honor of her father who was ACS superintendent for 18 years.

Congratulations to all 2023 scholarship recipients!

  • Albion High School Alumni Foundation – Natalie Baron, Javon Jones
  • Paul R. Haines Memorial Scholarship – S’Koi Sanders Smith
  • St. Gobain Adfors Scholarship – Vincent Molisani
  • Elizabeth Balcom Smith – Brianna Sample
  • Golden Performance Scholarship – Hailey Crawford
  • Jim & Susie Fraser Health Careers Scholarship – Miranda Gebo
  • Dr. Lee N. Minier Science Scholarship – Clara Bolton
  • Albion Alumni Foundation Performing Arts Scholarship – Nicholas Andrews
  • Coach Richard Diminuco Scholarship for Athletic Excellence – Amari Jones
  • Harry W. Salchak Science Scholarship – Nick Harling
  • A.B. Dick Eddy Service Above Self Scholarship – Audrey Pask
  • Nancy Elaine Lagamba Scholarship – Clara Bolton
  • Dr. Paul Mahany Family Scholarships – Miranda Gebo, Samantha Hand, Daisy Reyes, Natalie Bertsch
  • Hoag Engineering Scholarships – Audrey Pask, Dallas Ecker, Olivia Krenning
  • Panek Family Farm Agriculture Scholarship – Sarah Basinait
  • Horton Scholarship – Audrey Pask
  • Wayne A. Burlison Memorial Scholarship – Audrey Pask, Hailey Crawford, Nicholas Andrews
  • Glassner Family Scholarship – Emilie Sitzer
  • John Panek Memorial Scholarship – Bryce Wilson
  • Ronald L. Sodoma Memorial Scholarship – Ulises Ledesma
  • Masonic Renovation Lodge #97 Scholarship – Dallas Ecker
  • Edward B. Archbald Memorial Scholarship – Amari Jones
  • Dr. David and Anita Long Scholarship – Christopher Sacco
  • D’Andrea Family Scholarship – Hailey Crawford
  • Brandon Bruski Memorial Scholarship – Hailey Crawford
  • Ralph and Pearl Poelma Good Neighbor Community Scholarship – Nicholas Andrews, Iris Reyes
  • Jake and Anna Vreeburg Scholarships – Natalie Bertsch, Vincent Molisani
  • Inge Hume Elementary Education Scholarship – Maya Knaak
  • Robert P. VanDeusen Memorial Scholarship – Maya Knaak
  • Moore Family Scholarship Fund – Corleone Plain
  • Sherman Awards – Nicholas Andrews, Clara Bolton
  • Benjamin Dennis Kirby Memorial Scholarship – Dylan Roath, Dallas Ecker, Ethan Merrill
  • Scott Whittier Memorial Scholarships – S’Koi Sanders Smith, Nick Harling
  • Country Lane Veterinary Scholarship – Natalie Bertsch
  • Babbitt Family Scholarship – Miranda Gebo
  • Matthew K. Gardner Memorial Scholarship – Dallas Ecker
  • Scott H. Ward Memorial Scholarship – Caleb Fox
  • Craig Anderson Scholarship – Nick Harling
  • Brennan Michael Carlyle Moody Scholarship – Audrey Pask, Nicholas Andrews
  • Jared M. Fearby Scholarship – Jillian Ray
  • Edward Fancher Memorial Scholarship – Nicholas Andrews
  • Gil and Christine Pritchard Vocational Scholarship – Vincent Molisani
  • Lamont Family Scholarship – Iris Reyes
  • Kelly Sidari Ricker Memorial Scholarship – Clara Bolton
  • Gwenyth Hughson Memorial Scholarship – Keyonna Hamilton
  • Nicholas Kovaleski Memorial Scholarship – Dallas Ecker
  • Hoag Skilled Trades Scholarship – Bryden McMurray, Caleb Fox
  • Betty West Memorial Scholarship – Nicholas Andrews
  • Stewart New Scholarship – Taylor Soule
  • Dick Tower Scholarship – Caleb Fox