Albion 7th graders working on booklet about Charles Howard, the Santa School founder

Posted 21 September 2021 at 3:57 pm

Photos courtesy of Albion Central School: Dee Robinson, the archivist at Hoag Library, shares a folder of news clippings and magazine articles about the late Charles W. Howard, who founded a Santa Claus School in Albion in 1937 and ran it until his death in 1966. The school continues in his name in Midland, Mich.

Press Release, Albion Central School

ALBION – Four seventh grade school students recently spent a day researching the life of Albion’s famous Santa Claus, Charles W. Howard.

Olivia Andrews, Brooke Doty, Grace Nesbitt and Ava Woolston visited Mt. Albion Cemetery and met with Orleans County Historian Catherine Cooper, Hoag Library Archivist Delia Robinson, former Christmas Park employee Jack Miles and former historian Bill Lattin.

The students, along with others in Tim Archer’s Service Learning class, are working on a booklet about Howard. Once finished, the booklet will be distributed to local libraries. It will be unveiled on December 10 at the Hoag Library.

Community members are welcome to attend, and anyone with artifacts from the former Christmas Park can contact Mr. Archer or the Hoag Library to showcase their items at the event in December.

Jack Miles, who is retired as Town of Albion highway superintendent, used to work at Christmas Park. He shows the students the fireplace at the former site near the intersection of Phipps Road and Route 31.