Akron trio heads All-League volleyball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 May 2021 at 10:59 am

Contributed Photos – Champion Akron’s three first team All-League volleyball honorees include, from left, Ella Hill, Jessee Jonathan and Jayni Sundown.

Contributed Photos – Wilson’s Megan Musall, left, and Madelyn Seeley.

Undefeated (10-0) champion Akron has placed three players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

The Lady Tigers trio includes seniors Jessee Jonathan and Jayni Sundown along with junior Ella Hill who is a repeat selection.

Jonathan has also earned the N-O Player of the Year honors.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Devin Griffin

Runner-up Wilson is represented on the first team by the senior duo of Megan Musall and Madelyn Seeley who is a repeat honoree.

Rounding out the first team is Medina senior Devin Griffin who earned second team honors as a junior.

Roy-Hart heads the second team selections with a trio of underclassmen honorees including juniors Marissa Scott and Allison Dent and sophomore Samantha Albright.

Completing the second team selections are Akron senior Sydney Hall, Wilson junior Samantha Herlan and Newfane sophomore Emma Hoffer.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – Mya Thomas (Sr.), Marissa Maggiore (Sr.) and Hope Cummings (Sr.).

Albion: Rylee Pearles (Sr.), Honesty Little (St.) and Arianna McGurn (Sr.).

Medina – Evie Schultz (Sr.) and Ianah Drisdom (Sr.).

Newfane – Ava Morgan (Sr.), Teya Wedekind (Sr.) and Sarah Leibring (Jr.).

Roy-Hart – Alex Stern (So.).

Wilson – Victoria Pawlak (Sr.).