Akron tops Medina to claim N-O tennis title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 May 2018 at 8:13 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Haylee Seefeldt and Jake Houseman compete at second doubles for Medina during today’s loss to visiting Akron which locked up the Niagara-Orleans League title with the victory.

Staying perfect at 10-0, Akron locked up outright possession of the Niagara-Orleans League tennis championship with a 4-1 1/2 victory over host Medina this afternoon.

The N-O title is believed to be the first ever for the Tigers tennis program.

Wins by Nate Chubb at first singles and Will Chubb at third singles led the way for Akron.

The Tigers also captured the first two doubles matches on wins by the duos of Morgan Wdowka-Skyler Earle and Maggie Leeds-Harry Fitzgerald.

Ray Paull won at second singles for Medina which also took the third doubles match with the team of Mark Barcena and Isaac Pace.

The loss drops Medina to 6-3.

Roy-Hart 5 1/2, Barker 0
Roy-Hart improved to 8-3 by blanking Barker 5 1/2-0 as victories by the singles trio of Patrick Sheelar, Madigan Lang and Evan Birkemeier led the way.

The Rams also swept the doubles with wins by the duos of Noah Kindron-Kody Hayes, Carly Eldridge-Caleb Reith and Cameron VanBuren-Mason Collins.

Barker is now 0-11.

Holley 3, Elba 2
Holley improves to 5-1 in Genesee Region League competition by downing Elba 3-2.

Kristina Yaroshchuk won at third singles for Holley.

The Hawks also took both doubles matches with victories by the teams of Dalton Thurley-Steven Morgan and Jake Peters-Austin Berns.

Elba took the first two singles matches with wins by Mark Anauo and Isabella Riner.