Akron netters tip Medina to cap 12-0 season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 May 2019 at 7:22 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Andrew Houseman and Jonathan Pietrafesa in action for Medina at first doubles during this afternoon’s home match against Akron.

Akron edged past host Medina 3-2 this afternoon to complete a 12-0 Niagara-Orleans League championship tennis season.

Completing a second straight N-O title season, Akron got wins at the first two singles positions from Nate Chubb and Will Chubb and from the first doubles team of Michah Suckow and Harry Fitzgerald.

Kody Leno won at third singles for Medina as did the Mustangs second doubles team of Ben Zakes and Isaac Pace.

Medina, which next hosts Wilson on Friday, is now 7-3.

Roy-Hart 4 1/2, Barker 1

Roy-Hart improved to 7-4 with a 4 1/2-1 win over Barker (0-11).

Collin Dodge won at second singles and Dominic Pericciny at third singles for Roy-Hart which also got victories from the doubles teams of Michael and Jason Kuchey, Aspen Moore-Kayla Hagen and Mya Quinn-Kristina Burdick.

Dave Newton won at first singles for Barker.

G-R Tennis

Oakfield-Alabama defeated Holley 4-1 and Wheatland-Chili blanked Kendall 5-0 in Genesee Region League tennis action.

Erick Balys and Kory Puente won at second doubles for Holley.