Akron nets win over Medina to retain title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 May 2019 at 8:44 pm

Staying perfect at 11-0, Akron defeated visiting Medina 3-2 1/2 this afternoon to lock up a second straight Niagara-Orleans League tennis championship.

Nate Chubb, Will Chubb and Morgan Wdowka scored singles win to earn the victory for the Tigers.

Medina took the three doubles matches on wins by the duos of Andrew Houseman-Jonathan Pietrafesa, Ben Zakes-Isaac Pace and Mark Barcena-Carther Green.

Medina is now 7-2.

Roy-Hart bested  Wilson 4 1/2-1 leaving both teams at 6-4 in N-O action.

Collin Dodge won at second singles and Michael Kuchey at third singles for Roy-Hart.

The Rams also swept the three doubles matches on wins by the teams of Jason Kuchey-Jose Campos, Aspen Moore-Kayla Hagen and Mason Collins-Isabel Keirn.

Wilson’s Joey Moote won at first singles.