Akron matmen top Holley for tourney title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 December 2013 at 12:00 am

Albion coach earns 300th win

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Holley’s Dan Flanagan works toward a win over Will Swift of Canisius during the host Hawks Tournament win today.

HOLLEY – Akron posted a 63-24 victory over the host Hawks this afternoon to capture the Holley Team Tournament championship by going 5-0 on the day.

Holley, which went 4-1, defeated Canisius 65-18, Red Jacket 73-6, Holley Varsity B 81-0 and Eastridge 66-6.

Martin Beadle, Nick Shenck, Kevin Avery and Lucas Silvis, who each went 5-0, were named to the All-Tournament team from Holley as was Jake Bailey who went 4-1. Beadle was named the MVP.

The Hawks also had Dan Flanagan, Brandon Morrell, Gage Papponetti, John Tanis, Issac Miller and Branden Edwards go 4-1 on the day.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Martin Beadle of Holley works for a pin over Canisius’ Matt Taboni.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Holley’s Kevin Avery bests Alex Downing of Canisius.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Lucas Silvis of Holley has the upper hand against Solomon Renfro of Canisius.

Holley to host Alumni Night

The Holley wrestling team will be hosting an Alumni Night on December 18 when the Hawks host Kendall.

The ceremony will start at 6 p.m. when all former Holley wrestlers will be introduced at mat side. Refreshments will be served to the alumni following the match.

All former Holley wrestlers will be admitted free. The Holley coaching staff is asking all former wrestlers to pass the word about the event. Each alumnus will fill out a data sheet with their name and year of graduation.

If any former wrestler has any questions contact Coach John Grillo at 585-638-6335 (ext. 2173) or e-mail at jgrillo3@hotmail.com.

Milestone for Albion coach

Albion Coach Keith Piccirilli earned his milestone 300th career victory this afternoon as the Purple Eagles went 3-2 at the Depew Tournament.

Albion opened with a 48-39 win over West Seneca East and then bested Williamsville North 51-30 to earn the 300th victory for Piccirilli.

Albion then bowed 50-27 to Williamsville East and 55-27 to Starpoint before closing out the tourney with a 70-6 victory over Depew.

Dylan Burkhardt, Blake Aina, Aaron Burnside, Justyn Haines, Aaron Mulroy and Kollin Reynolds all went 4-2 on the day for the Purple Eagles.

Medina 4th at Maple Grove

Medina placed fourth out of 14 teams at the Maple Grove Tournament today.

Brennan Callara and Joe Velez both earned first place finishes for Medina.

The Mustangs also had Nick Erway, Nick Doberstein and Kalvin Packer place third and Charles Beach and Alex Gomez fourth.