Akron and Barker win to share N-O field hockey title; Roy-Hart trims Medina

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 5 November 2020 at 9:14 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Abi Blount reaches to try and stop the advance of Roy-Hart’s Rebecca Berner during the Mustangs loss to the host Lady Rams this afternoon.

Akron and Barker both romped to road victories today to finish the Niagara-Orleans League field hockey season as co-champions.

Finishing the N-O campaign with identical 11-1 records, Akron blanked Kenmore 7-0 and Barker shutout Newfane 11-0.

Lacey Berghorn and Madison Brege both scored two goals to lead the way for Akron as Olivia McClaine, Jennelle Kieffer and Ella Hill each chipped in with one.

Natalie Bruning, Laci Giarla, Macie May and Ella Gooding each had two goals for Barker as Mia Herman, Ashlin Cole and Alexa Zglinicki each added one.

Akron and Barker both held 4-0 leads at the half.

In the other N-O finale, Roy-Hart edged past visiting Medina 1-0 on a second quarter goal by Justine Laverty.

A coin flip between Akron and Barker will now determine the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds for the Section VI Class C playoffs. The seeding meeting is set for Friday. The semifinals are scheduled for Saturday and the finals for Monday.

Final N-O Standings: Akron 11-1, Barker 11-1, Roy-Hart 7-4-1, Kenmore 4-7-1, Medina 3-7-2, Wilson 3-9, Newfane 1-11.

Medina’s Rachel Hill and Roy-Hart’s Carmela Huntington battle for control of the ball.