Akron and Barker trios head the annual N-O All-League field hockey first team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 25 November 2020 at 9:39 am

Contributed Photos – Akron’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include, from left, Madison Brege, Lacey Berghorn and Jenelle Kieffer.

Co-champions Akron and Barker have both placed three players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad.

Akron is represented by junior midfielder Jenelle Kieffer, who is a repeat honoree, along with sophomores Madison Brege, a midfielder, and Lacey Berghorn, a forward.

Barker has placed senior midfielders Madison Gancasz and Lena Fazzolari along with sophomore defender Ashlin Cole. Gancasz, a three-time first team honoree, has been named N-O Player of the Year.

Roy-Hart is represented by the duo of senior forward Lexiss Diel and junior forward Justine Laverty.

Rounding out the first team are Medina senior midfielder FaithAnn Vanderwalker, Newfane senior midfielder/defender Kaylee Christy, Wilson senior midfielder Olivia Mocarski and Kenmore senior forward Jessica Botham who is a repeat honoree.

Barker’s first team honorees include, from left, Lena Fazzolari, Madison Gancasz and Ashlin Cole.

Berghorn scored a Section VI leading 33 goals while Brege netted 12 and Kieffer 5 for the Lady Tigers.

Gancasz had 9 goals and 6 assists, Fazzolari 4 goals and 5 assists and Cole 3 goals and 3 assists for the Lady Raiders.

Diel had 11 goals and 3 assists and Laverty 5 goals and 4 assists for the Lady Rams.

Vanderwalker had 1 goal and 4 assists, Mocarski 3 goals and 1 assist and Botham 2 goals and 4 assists.

Roy-Hart’s Justine Laverty and Lexiss Diel and Medina’s FaithAnn Vanderwalker.

Akron and Barker both had three honores to head the second team

The Lady Tigers are represented by the junior trio of Laicy Karczewski, Emerson Polkowski and Alexandria Roland.

The Lady Raiders have placed seniors Natalie Bruning and Ella Gooding and sophomore Mia Herman.

Roy-Hart is represented by seniors Rebecca Berner and Miah Glena.

The second team also includes Hannah Kenward from Medina, Marah Sheehan from Newfane, Anna Meyers from Wilson and Rachel Rumschk from Kenmore, all seniors.

Kenmore’s Jessica Botham, Newfane’s Kaylee Christy and Wilson’s Olivia Mocarski.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – sophomores Isabella Jones and Sophia Jones and freshman Olivia McClaine

Barker – senior Courtney Hillman, junior Kaedynce Schumacher and sophomore Aaliyah Wheat.

Roy-Hart – juniors Amanda Hill and Claire Halstead and sophomore Cheyenne Stilwell.

Medina – senior Abigail Blount and junior Dakota Alexander

Newfane – seventh grader Roxy Smith

Wilson – seniors Alycia Thompson and Gianna Marchetti

Kenmore – sophomore Avery Vogt