AG distributes first funds of opioid settlement, which will be $246K in 2022 for Orleans

Posted 19 April 2022 at 6:51 pm

Information from New York Attorney General Letitia James

NEW YORK – New York Attorney General Letitia James today distributed the first round of payments from the opioid settlements to counties in the Finger Lakes region and Rochester, including the initial payment of the $246,260 due for Orleans County.

These funds are the result of the $1.5 billion that Attorney General Letitia James has secured so far for New York state as a result of settlements with the manufacturers and distributors of opioids.

All 62 counties and the five largest cities in the state will begin receiving funds this week, which will be used for opioid treatment and prevention efforts. The Finger Lakes region will receive up to $53 million in total over the years as part of these settlements.

“For more than two decades, the Finger Lakes region has been ravaged by the opioid crisis, but today, opioid makers and distributors are paying for it,” said Attorney General James. “These funds are crucial in fighting the opioid crisis and will go a long way in helping New Yorkers get the support they need to recover. No amount of money will ever make up for all that we have lost, but these funds will help prevent future devastation.”

Today’s payments are the first of many to the Finger Lakes region to combat the opioid crisis. The first payments come from settlements with opioid distributors — AmerisourceBergen Corporation, Cardinal Health, Inc., and McKesson Corporation.

Later this year, counties in the Finger Lakes and Rochester will receive additional payments from the settlements with Endo Health Solutions, Janssen Pharmaceuticals, and Allergan. In addition, counties and cities will receive funds from the New York State Opioid Settlement Fund, which is managed by the New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports (OASAS).

The breakdown of the $9,062,035 for the Finger Lakes Region that will be distributed in 2022 includes:

  • City of Rochester: $390,918
  • Genesee County: $423,876
  • Livingston County: $404,888
  • Monroe County: $5,597,620
  • Ontario County: $781,354
  • Orleans County: $246,260
  • Seneca County: $230,746
  • Wayne County: $592,953
  • Wyoming County: $245,544
  • Yates County: $147,872