5 states removed from NY’s travel advisory

Posted 25 August 2020 at 11:25 am

Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana come off the list

Press Release, Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s Office

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that five states—Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana—have been removed from New York State’s Covid-19 travel advisory. Guam has been added.

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

New York State has had a rate of positive tests below 1 percent for 18 straight days. Yesterday, 2 deaths were reported from Covid-19, matching the state’s previous low. No deaths were reported in New York City.

“New Yorkers made enormous sacrifices to get our numbers as low as they are today, and we don’t want to give up an inch of that hard-earned progress,” Cuomo said. “That’s why these travel advisory precautions are so important – we don’t want people who travel to states with high community spread to bring the virus back here.”

The full, updated travel advisory list includes: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Virgin Islands and Wisconsin.

Return to top