5 states added to NY travel advisory

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 22 September 2020 at 11:09 am

Travelers from Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island and Wyoming must quarantine for 2 weeks once in NY

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced today that Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island and Wyoming are on the state’s travel advisory, bringing the total of states to 33 on the advisory. Travelers from those states must self quarantine for two weeks once in New York.

States on the advisory have had a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or they are an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

“For a clear example of the continuing extent of the Covid crisis in America, look no further than New York’s travel advisory list,” Cuomo said. “The virus’ spread across the country—new cases have increased more than 15 percent in the last 10 days—makes it all the more urgent that we stay vigilant here at home.”

The full list of states and two territories on the travel advisory now includes: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Return to top