3 Medina, 2 Albion matmen earn N-O titles as Newfane retains league crown

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 30 January 2016 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos – Albion’s duo of Blake Aina and Preston Flugel, in front, along with the Medina trio of Colby Petrie, Joe Velez and Chaise Prest all captured titles this afternoon at the annual Niagara-Orleans League Wrestling Tournament held at Wilson.

Medina had a trio of individual weight class champions and Albion two at the annual Niagara-Orleans League Wrestling Tournament held today at Wilson.

Joe Velez (126), who earned the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler Award, heads the Medina trio which also includes Colby Petrie (106) and Chaise Prest (113).

Velez, a repeat champion, edged past Akron’s Johnny Fieblekorn 3-1 in his title match while Petrie nipped Newfane’s Ryan Nugent 1-0. Prest was the only competitor in his weight class.

Albion’s duo of Preston Flugel (120) and Blake Aina (138) both repeated as N-O champions. Flugel decisioned Newfane’s Nick Voelker 9-5 in his title bout while Aina blanked Newfane’s Julian Nixon 7-0.

Newfane, which captured the team title to lock up a third straight N-O title, led the way with five champions including Andrew Lucinski (99), Charlie Johnston (132), Paul Dunbar (145), Adam Nowicki (152) and Jake Kubala (182). Dunbar, Nowicki and Kubala are all repeat champions.

Medina’s Joe Velez earned the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler Award.

In the title bouts, Lucinski pinned his Newfane teammate Luke Tice in 3:17, Johnston decisioned Brent Bachman of Barker/Roy-Hart 8-1, Dunbar pinned Andrew Schafer of Barker/Roy-Hart in 1:47, Nowicki decisioned Robbie PeQueen of Akron 13-4 and Kubala scored a 15-0 technical fall win over Wilson’s Aaron Weich.

Newfane, which went 5-0 during the dual meet portion of the season, won the tournament with 292 points. Akron edged out Barker/Roy-Hart for second place 191.5-191.0.  Albion finished fourth at 106 followed by Medina 91 and Wilson 66.

Barker/Roy-Hart had a trio of champions including Cameron Swick (160), Sam Dauphin (220) and Kirk Fay (285).

In the title matches, Swick pinned Akron’s Brady Jenson in 3:45, Dauphin decisioned Akron’s Caleb Cray 5-1 and Fay pinned Medina’s D’John Brown in 3:50.

Rounding out the group of 15 champions were Akron’s Ethan PeQueen (170) and Wilson’s Matt Morgan (195).

The 15 league champions include, in front, Preston Flugel (Albion), Chaise Prest (Medina), Colby Petrie (Medina and Andrew Lucinski (Newfane. In the middle row are Joe Velez (Medina), Charlie Johnston (Newfane), Paul Dunbar (Newfane), Adam Nowicki (Newfane) and Blake Aina (Albion). In the back row are Cameron Swick (Barker/Roy-Hart), Jake Kubala (Newfane), Ethan PeQueen (Akron), Matt Morgan (Wilson), Sam Dauphin (Barker/R-H) and Kirk Fay (Barker/R-H).

In the finals, PeQueen scored a 16-1 technical fall win over Newfane’s Tyler Skidmore and Morgan nipped Newfane’s Chris Johnston 5-3 in overtime.

Albion had a trio of third place finishers in Jacob Delamarter (99), Cade Aina (120) and Tim Drake (195).

Lyndonville trio places at Lew-Port Tournament

Lyndonville had a trio of place finishers at the Lew-Port Tournament.

In earning first place finishes for the Tigers, Tom Follman went 4-0 at 152 and Dustin Joy 3-0 at 138.

The Tigers also had Dustin Hinkley place third going 3-1 at 160.

Holley matmen compete at Avoca Tourney

Patrick Purtell went 3-1 with two pins while Dalton Moyer and Erik Balys were both 3-2 with two pins and Robert Towsley 2-3 for Holley at the Avoca Tournament.