2 states, Alaska and Montana, back on NY’s travel advisory

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 1 September 2020 at 10:09 am

Two states – Alaska and Montana – which were removed from New York’s travel advisory on Aug. 25 are back on the list, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced today.

The two states meet the metrics to qualify for New York State’s Covid-19 travel advisory. The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days.

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The governor also announced that the state’s infection rate has been below 1 percent for 25 straight days. There were 754 positives out of 76,997 test results or 0.98 percent.

The number of patients in ICUs remained at 109, the lowest number since March 15.

“As we continue to pursue a phased, data driven reopening, the number of areas that remain on New York’s travel advisory is a stark reminder of the continued extent of the Covid-19 crisis throughout the nation,” Cuomo said. “Our ability to protect our state and fight the virus begins with what we do here at home, and that’s why it’s so important that New Yorkers wear masks, socially distance and wash their hands, and why local governments need to enforce state guidance.”

The full, updated travel advisory list includes: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Virgin Islands and Wisconsin.

Return to top