2 more states, Alaska and Delaware, added to NY travel advisory

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 18 August 2020 at 1:28 pm

Those states were previously on the list, then removed, but now return with Covid infections on the rise

Gov. Andrew Cuomo today announced that two states, Alaska and Delaware, are back on the state’s travel advisory.

Delaware was previously on the list but was removed on Aug. 4. Alaska also was on the list but was removed on Aug. 11.

The travel advisory now includes 33 states and two territories. Travelers coming to New York from those places should quarantine for two weeks. These are areas with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The full, updated travel advisory list includes: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Virgin Islands and Wisconsin.

The governor also announced that for the 11th straight day, New York State’s rate of positive tests was below 1 percent.

There were 655 positive Covid-19 tests on Monday out of 66,891 test results reported or 0.98 percent that were positive.

“Our success in this fight is determined, more than anything, by the actions each of us takes in daily life—washing our hands, properly social distancing and wearing masks—and by the willingness of local governments to be competent partners and to enforce state guidance,” Cuomo said. “We continue to move in the right direction, but it’s up to all of us to slow the spread and stay safe.”

Return to top