2 county legislators went to DC for national legislative conference

Posted 4 March 2020 at 3:46 pm

Press Release, New York State Association of Counties

Orleans County Legislature Chairwoman Lynne Johnson of Lyndonville and Legislator Skip Draper of Medina joined dozens of county leaders from across New York State this week at the National Association of Counties (NACo) Legislative Conference in Washington D.C.

Lynne Johnson

While attending the conference, local officials also had meetings with Senators and Congressional members to discuss issues critical to local government.

Top priorities of the New York State delegation of county leaders include the response to the coronavirus, expanding rural cellular service, protecting Medicaid funding to hospitals and maintaining the state-federal partnership structure for funding Medicaid, raising the caps on SALT deductions, addressing water pollution, funding infrastructure, and more.

Skip Draper

“The NaCo conference is a unique opportunity for our members to not only meet with county leaders from across the nation and attend cutting edge seminars and trainings, but it’s also an opportunity for the New York delegation of county leaders to carry our message right to the doorstep of our federal representatives in Congress and the White House,” said NYSAC Executive Director Stephen J. Acquario.

The New York delegation had meetings at the White House on Monday afternoon with Trump Administration officials where they discussed the latest developments in the federal response to the coronavirus, as well as the recent federal actions regarding the Trusted Traveler program.

On Tuesday, the county officials heard from former Secretary of State General Colin Powell, New York Congressman John Katko and President Donald Trump, who is the first president to attend the NACo conference since 1996, when then-President Bill Clinton addressed the group.

County leaders also attended meetings with the Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, Senate Majority Leader Charles Schumer and met with Representatives Anthony Brindisi, Joe Morelle and Tom Suozzi.

Return to top