Mustangs return veteran squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 27 March 2015 at 12:00 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Anchoring the lineup for Medina this spring will be this group of returning starters including Matt Riemer, Josh Scroger, Shane Freeman, Jason Hellwig and Justin Morgan. Missing from the photo is Devonte Howard.

Coming off back-to-back second place finishes, Medina is looking to a large veteran contingent to help key another run at the Niagara-Orleans League baseball title this spring.

Pitcher/ first baseman Matt Riemer and outfield/pitcher Josh Scroger, both seniors who earned first team N-O All-League honors last season, head Medina’s veteran group.

The Mustangs returning starting contingent also includes DH/outfielder/second baseman Shane Freeman who earned second team N-O All-League honors, junior catcher/pitcher Justin Morgan who received Honorable Mention, senior shortstop/pitcher Jason Hellwig and senior third baseman Devonte Howard.

Medina also returns varsity experience in sophomore outfielder/pitcher Quentin Adkins, junior outfielder/shortstop/pitcher Tyler Ames, senior outfielder Lawson Fenton, senior third baseman/catcher Kyle Herman and senior outfielder/pitcher Brennan Zinkievich.

Rounding out the squad are juniors Gage Grabowski (third base), Brad McPherson (outfield) and Jared Zinkievich (outfielder) along with eighth grader Izaiah Rhim (second base/pitcher).

“We have as much depth as anyone at the pitching position and we should be good defensively. We have no holes on defense,” said Coach Eric Hellwig. “It really depends on how we hit. Hopefully we can hit and score better than last year.”

Medina posted a second straight 10-4 record in N-O competition last year losing twice to both champion Albion and Roy-Hart.

Medina is scheduled to open the N-O season at Newfane on April 9 and then host Albion on April 13. The Mustangs have four non league tuneup contests scheduled (weather permitting) before opening the N-O season beginning at Lyndonville on April 1.

Medina’s Schedule

April 1 – at Lyndonville, 1 p.m.
April 2 – Williamsville South, 4:30 p.m.
April 4 – Batavia, 2 p.m.
April 7 – at Oakfield-Alabama, 4:30 p.m.
April 9 – at Newfane, 4:30 p.m.
April 13 – Albion, 4:30 p.m.
April 15 – at CSAT, 4:30 p.m.
April 17 – Barker, 4:30 p.m.
April 20 – at Akron, 4:30 p.m.
April 22 – Roy-Hart, 4:30 p.m.
April 24 – Wilson, 4:30 p.m.
April 29 – Newfane, 7 p.m.
May 1 – at Albion, 4:30 p.m.
May 4 – CSAT, 4:30 p.m.
May 6 – at Barker, 4:30 p.m.
May 8 – Akron, 4:30 p.m.
May 11 – at Roy-Hart, 4:30 p.m.
May 14 – at Wilson, 4:30 p.m.
May 16 – at Batavia, 2 p.m.