Lyndonville matmen down B-B

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 December 2013 at 12:00 am

Four pins helped power Lyndonville to a 44-36 victory over host Byron-Bergen this evening in a Genesee Region League wrestling match.

Dustin Hinkley registered a first period pin for the Tigers as Cullin Heveron, Alex Murphy and Devin Joy all notched second period falls.

Chris McDonald, Dustin Joy and Tom Follman all added decision wins for the Tigers.


Medina sweeps Akron
Medina swept to a doubleheader victory over host Akron this afternoon in a Niagara-Orleans League swim meet.

The Seahorses won the boys meet 124-30 and the girls competition 87-83.

Austin Heil doubled in the 200 and 500 freestyle events and Chase Pecoraro in the 200 individual medley and 100 breaststroke to lead the Medina boys squad which also got wins by Ian McAnn (50 free), Patrick Roberts (100 butterfly), Derek Donley (100 free) and Powell Stephens (100 backstroke).

The Seahorses also swept the three relays as Stephens, Pecoraro, McAnn and Damien Norrish won the 200 medley; Norrish, Kevin Capstick, Geo Diviere and Austin Brown the 200 free and Dan Heil, Nick Dieter, Kristian Snyder and Austin Heil the 400 free.

Emma Gardner doubled in the 100 and 200 free and Andrea Toussant won the 100 butterfly to lead the Medina girls squad.

Barker tops Albion
Barker swept host Albion winning the boys competition 68-26 and the girls 75-19.

Tim Flint doubled in the 200 free and 100 breaststroke for the Barker boys which also had Casey Webb win the 50 free, Alonzo St. Louis the 100 butterfly, Collin Webb the 100 free, John Stansbury the 500 free and Alex Goodlander the 100 backstroke.

Morgan Seielstad took the 200 individual medley for Albion.

Emma Jenks doubled in the 50 and 100 free and Brooke Targus the 200 individual medley and backstroke to led the Barker girls which also had Renee Levy win the 200 free, Hayley Richbart the 100 breaststroke, Christiana Carestia the 500 free and Perrine Gigandet the 100 free.

Roy-Hart, Newfane split
The defending champion Roy-Hart boys squad bested host Newfane 100-69 as Nick DiNardo won the 200 and 500 free, Roy Phipps the individual medley and 100 free, Ray Sack the 50 free and Lyle Wagner the 100 butterfly.

Mark Connolly won the 100 backstroke and Andrew Hamlick the 100 breaststroke for Newfane.

The defending champion Newfane girls team downed Roy-Hart 99-69 as KiKi Dy won the 100 and 200 free, Allie DeBiase the individual medley and breaststroke and AnneMarie Aber the 100 butterfly.

Calee Coleman won the 500 free and 100 backstroke and Lindsay Yates the 50 free for Roy-Hart.

N-O Boys Standings

Roy-Hart 3-0, Barker 2-1, Medina 2-1, Albion 1-2, Newfane 1-2, Akron 0-3

N-O Girls Standings

Newfane 3-0, Barker 2-1, Roy-Hart 2-1, Akron 1-2, Medina 1-2, Albion 0-3