Barker boys, Akron girls repeat as N-O cross-country champions

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 25 October 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Chery Wertman – Barker’s Sergio Cruz leads the pack at the start of today’s Niagara-Orleans All-League meet race at Lakeside Beach State Park. Cruz successfully repeated as the individual champion and the Barker boys likewise defended their team title.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Akron’s Margo Henley (607), who took first place honors, leads the pack early in the girls race. The front pack includes Medina’s Holly Heil (648) along with Albion’s Madyson Coville (619) and Meredith Patterson (625) along with Akron’s Emily Ludwig (610) and Newfane’s Kimberly Goerss (661).

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – A group of runners makes they way along the Lake Ontario shoreline.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s Chelsea Herriven (671) Medina’s Holly Heil (648) makes the turn along the scenic lake shore.

Making a successful title defense, both the Barker boys and Akron girls teams captured first place honors at the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League cross-country championships this morning at Lakeside Beach State Park.

Making it two championships seasons in a row and six of the last seven years, the Barker boys romped to a 42 point victory. The Raiders, which posted a perfect 7-0 record during the dual meet portion of the N-O season, finished with 24 points. Albion was a distant second with 66 followed by, Newfane 98, Roy-Hart 126, Wilson 130, Akron 134, Medina 152 and CSAT 215.

The Akron girls made it three straight N-O championships by edging out runner-up Newfane 38 points to 44. Albion finished third with 61 points followed by Roy-Hart 117, Wilson 129 and Barker 131. The Lady Tigers likewise compiled a perfect 7-0 record dying the dual meet portion of the season.

Barker’s Sergio Cruz repeated as the N-O individual champion winning the race in a time of 17:42.9. The Raiders in fact had five of the top nine finishers as Doug Bachman placed 4th, Jack Hopkins 5th, Dustin Walters 6th, Casey Webb 8th and Christopher Sweeney 9th.

Newfane’s Samuel Auernhamer finished 2nd, Roy-Hart’s Avery Green 3rd and Medina’s Austin Heil 7th to round out the first All-League team which is comprised of the top seven finishers.

Albion’s trio of Aaron Chen (10th), Brady Meakin (11th) and Jason Downs (14th) along with Newfane’s Tyler Arnett (12th) and Barker’s Brent Bachman (13th) complete the second All-League team which includes runners finishing 8th through 14th.

The Honorable mention team, which is comprised of runners finishing 15th through 21st, includes Albion’s Evan Steier (15th) and Evan Papallardo (16th), Wilson’s Trey Rees (17th) and Jordan Stoelting (18th), Medina’s Daniel Heil (19th) and Roy-Hart’s Ethan Gagne (20th) and Tanner Bulmer (21st).

The Akron girls squad was led by the 1-3-6 finish of champion Margo Henley (20:21.8), Emily Ludwig and Kylee Schultz.

Newfane’s Kimberly Goerss who finished 2nd and Nina Burkard (5th) along with Albion’s Madyson Coville (4th) and Barker’s Gabrielle Baker (7th) round out the first All-League team.

The second All-League team includes Newfane’s Lydia Chunco (8th) and Allie DeBiase (11th), Albion’s Meredith Patterson (9th) and Hannah Grammar (14th), Medina’s Holly Heil (10th), Roy-Hart’s Chelsea Herriven (12th) and Akron’s Alexandra Erb (13th).

The Honorable Mention team includes the Akron trio of Hope Cummings (17th), Emma Chubb (18th) and Amanda Ciurzynski (19th) along with Albion’s Emma Mathes (15th), Wilson’s Victoria Couturier (16th), Newfane’s Laura Auernhamer (20th) and Roy-Hart’s Katelyn DiBenedetto (21st).